>Something’s amiss!

>I’m generally a happy soul. So I know I’ll find a silver lining to this cloud as well. But life right now is a bit upside down. And I don’t know what’s amiss. I think it’s just a combination of some silly things. May I vent? Thank you.

Firstly, this whole office moving to the suburbs matter. So hubby and I now work at two different corners of the city. In Mumbai. That, ladies and gentlemen, is..well…not very nice. I spoke here about how we would travel to work together earlier. So inspite of leaving office at eight and coming back at 10, one was able to spend quite a bit of time together. And we sorely miss that now.

And then there’s the whole Mumbai traffic, mumbai noise, mumbai pollution thing. This city has taught me to live life fuller. Somehow, I’m able to pack in much more into my day than I could in Delhi or any other city. And I really enjoy that. BUT, I wish life was slightly easier. I spend close to 2 hrs travelling…one way. No. I cannot take the train. I just can’t. I’m not being a snob. I just can’t. And so I travel by road. So that means the traffic snarls, the terrible pollution, the honking, the noise, crib,crib,crib….!

Of course then there’s the usual business of new friends, new people, new social circle ( some very strange behaviour from old friends)

Sigh. I need to adjust a bit. It’ll take some time. But then that’s life, isn’t it. Adapting, adjusting. Till you fit in.

In fact I’m feeling better already. Happy posts will be up soon.

This entry was posted in Diva Land, Mumbai. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to >Something’s amiss!

  1. >All is well that ends well.Post ends on positive note.Cheers !!!

  2. WSW says:

    >I know you have emphatically said u did not wish to travel by the train, but believe me 2 days is all it will take for you to adjust and be a pro.Plus if work is in suburbs, it would be one of the finishing stations so no dhakka-mukki..dun know where u live or would have analysed how much brawn is needed there as well..also the mantra is to catch trains before 8.30am and after 7.30pmBut ya make sure you have a first class pass.Thank god we finally got a post!

  3. Mukta says:

    >you know, a lot of people I know (me included) have been having these strange bouts of weirdness. I’m told it’s because of the lunar eclipse. thiings will get better!

  4. Mumbai Diva says:

    >hobo:)WSW: I tried. And I like it….during non peak hours. So I can happily travel from Andheri to Churchgate at 8.00 pm πŸ™‚ I can’t do so during office hours. Also I stay in the east, so it would mean changing trains…twice. Not happening. No. So road it is.Mukta:D Thanks. I know they will. I love your blog…….

  5. mindspace says:

    >Hey I read ur blog some time back and blogrolled once i read that u hv moved from D to M whereas I had moved from M to D.. life is different in the two cities… it takes some time to learn the ways to enjoy life in either of them…gud luck to you. I hv by now moved to 4th city within less than 2 yrs of marriage n hv now even gave up the job to accompany the husband in a diff land altogether..to top it the recession times.can u imagine my state right now :Oadapting, adjusting.. till u fit.but like you I am also generally a happy soul waiting for that silver linking to clouds.

  6. Reflections says:

    >So then how do u find the time for gym ????

  7. aneri_masi says:

    >Where’d you move to? I am thinking of all the new places you can explore to go have lunch, and new stores to window shop, and new friends to make and all things new. Oh goody :)Hope you’re able to settle down in the new routine soon!

  8. Mumbai Diva says:

    >mindspace: good. I’m glad. Every city has it’s own charm. The idea is to find those things that make a city special and make it your own.aneri_masi: mumbai, 8 months back. it’s only now that I’m beginning to feel the adjustment pangs. The initial period was actually fun.And yes, I am discovering new places. That’s something I specialize in:)reflections: very simple really. I travel by one of those phone cabs. I’ve tied up with one particular driver. Since I don’t know what time I’ll finish from office, I call him at a standard 8.30. So, hence whatever time I finish from office, I spend some time at the gym. Like i said….this city doers encourage you to pack in a lot into your day πŸ™‚

  9. >such is life baby….you’ll get around it. it’s the shifting stress and the adjusting to so many new things all at one time :).

  10. DeeplyDip says:

    >lol…traffic can be more stressful than work sometimes…my new office is 45 kms from my home…so well i would be commuting 45minutes+(one way) everyday. This plus can be anywhere between 10mins to 1 hour! So there you go…you have company πŸ™‚ Looking forwrad to a cheery post now…

  11. Iya says:

    >awww..hope u r cheerful by now.. some elements we cant control and therefore let them not make u unhappy!!

  12. Jagjit says:

    >I hate this office moving thing. My office is also moving shorty from Bandra to Worli. Wish your happy posting time comes soon. Cheers.

  13. Wolfy says:

    >Ohh dnt worry, I guess you’ll adjust with time.. Only real bad thing is that office moving… traveling together and all that :)…I totally understand your hesitation to travel by train.. I haven’t lived in mumbai.. but my friends tell me that thts the better transport option anyday..I hope u adjust soon enough.. find new places… friends …and think of a way to find more time with the hubby.

  14. Shalom says:

    >Despite being Bombay born & bred, and having lived there till the age of 22, I only started traveling by train at 21 coz there was just no way I wanted to spend close to 2 hrs traveling one-way through all that traffic & pollution. Would you believe my dad came with me the first time I had to take the train? And the first time I had to brave it alone, I was shit-scared and totally intimidated by all these confident women around me. But 2 days was all it took and then I too was moving around like a pro. Now I swear by the train service. I can understand your revulsion for it, but if you travel first class its not bad at all and seriously the time you save makes it totally worthwhile. Go along with someone else first to build up your confidence.

  15. DeeplyDip says:

    >hey there’s a tag for you on my blog…come and take it!

  16. >new city blues. i shifted from mumbai to pune and i have same issues hehe.

  17. Meira says:

    >50 nose thumps πŸ™‚ …and hoping for a transfer to gurgaon for both of you?:P

  18. Serendipity says:

    >Hey! Hope things are looking up now :)and Happy belated V’tines πŸ˜€

  19. Serendipity says:

    >Tagged! Where are you!

  20. Tina says:

    >hello, Can totally relate to the same. :)Here too facing the same. Long commute plus the long hours at office do take a toll..Also somehow this is also not surprising “( some very strange behaviour from old friends)” … I used to think that it is only with me :)You are not alone in that boat and good luck for adapting and adjusting.:)

  21. Iya says:

    >missing?? all well…

  22. Serendipity says:

    >u want some more happy? somethign waits for u at my blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

