>Gulaal

>

I watched the movie over the weekend. And loved it. Yet again, Mr Kashyap manages to suck you in and become involved and fascinated by the drama as it unfolds on screen. Like Dev D, it is a great visual treat, very psychedelic colours, raw and with some awesome acting by each one of it’s cast.

And yet the movie leaves a bitter taste. Because the story punches you in the face. And you realize that for all your carrying placards on Marine Drive, lighting candles at India Gate, ‘change’ is far, far away. Because you and I, sheltered in our big city homes are so far away from where the political rot begins. Yes, student politics, especially in the hinterland. This story, though based in Rajasthan could be the story of any university, whether in Bihar , UP or even Delhi. The national leaders that we complain about, and want accountability for are actually survivors of rounds and rounds of violent selection. And by then the rot has set in way, way deep into their systems.

The story, say the credits, owes itself to the Guru Dutt song ‘ Yeh Duniya agar mil bhi jaaye to kya hai’. And that really is the biggest despair of all. If not this party, this candidate, who? And a simplistic ‘if you’re not happy with the candidates, why don’t you as the educated youth enter politics?’ is really not the answer. Because power corrupts. And anyone who has fought his way to the top would consider it his reward to be corrupt. I guess, we need to put in checks and balances that we provide this corrupting power to those who atleast have some semblance of minimum education and social hygiene levels.

I’m kind regretting not having watched his ‘No Smoking’. Can’t believe it was that bad.

This entry was posted in this and that. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to >Gulaal

  1. Serendipity says:

    >really? its good? I was wondering if I should watch..

  2. chandni says:

    >i am dying to watch the movie!and u have to watch no smoking!

  3. Mumbai Diva says:

    >Serendipity : Yup, watch it. Phenomenal acting.Chandni: I went to watch it coz of Dev D. If that was soooo good, this may be worth a watch too. I guess No Smoking suffered coz a l,ot of people didn’t understand it. You need to have a certain sensibility to like his movies. Trust me I know a lot of people didn’t like this one either. Will get ‘No Smoking’ DVD over weekend.

  4. >Young Director – Learning fast.Good for audience.

  5. Iya says:

    >amazing movie..hits u realy hard..

  6. >i am more keen to watch the movie now about your thoughts on it. Have not watched ‘No Smoking’ too…somehow some of the negative comments on it put me off from watching. Now have to rethink that too :).

  7. >I think it was an ok film. Definitely nothing too great about it all.

  8. Mukta says:

    >No Smoking was really, really good! Yes, do watch it.I will definitely catch Gulaal. I missed out on Dev D. :-(In fact, I am told Haasil is also a very good film on a similar subject. I haven’t seen that either. (what DO i do with my time? sheesh!)

  9. D says:

    >Been hearing a lot of praise for the movie. But the bitter realism is still keeping me away from it 😦

  10. roop says:

    >I WANNA watch this so badly!!!

  11. Mumbai Diva says:

    >Hobo: Though one more movie of this nature wold brand him as repetitive. Iya : absolutelyMukta: I’m going to geta DVD of No SmokingA: Have you seen DEV D. Awesome.Ebrahim: That’s why i generally don;t put up reviews. It’s always so personal:)D: No No, watch it. It’s worth it.Roop: Tell me whether you like it:)

  12. Ranjani says:

    >Thanks for the review…I was contemplating watching it.

  13. Sakshi says:

    >Ur review has got me all excited…and am planning to watch it this weekend. So far all I heard was the song Jaise door desh ke tower pe and thought what the hell the lyricist is nutty and couldn’t stop laughing. Loved ur parting shot “…anyone who has fought his way to the top would consider it his reward to be corrupt….” It’s so true have seen so many ppl going all the wrong way once they reach a certain height be it in politics, career or at times a change of living status in another country..nice blog u have here…will be back

  14. DeeplyDip says:

    >hmm…ok so this movie is added to my list of movies to watch…

  15. >I totally loved it !! and no smoking was another must watch 🙂

Leave a Reply

