>Mundane stuff

>

Sometimes, the most mundane, repetitive tasks can be sooo de stressing.

For eg, once I reach home, post office and traffic battles, I love to pick up clothes drying on the clothesline, fold them neatly and put them away.

This simple, mindless task has an unbelievably calming effect on me. Those 7-10 minutes help me to switch out of work, sort out my jumbled brain, slow down the speed of my thoughts, get out of any angst I may be feeling towards a co worker/client/the irritatingly slow driver in front of me and feel happier and more relaxed. And enjoy the only meal one has with hubby………….

This entry was posted in Marriage, this and that. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to >Mundane stuff

  1. BlueMist says:

    >Oh absolutely. I can not agree more. I think I have always looked forward to get into the kitchen after office and get lost in that world of spices cutting myself off from the outer world. 🙂

  2. Iya says:

    >he it can. what do i do once i get home – switch on the laptop and start work again. i seriously need a real life.

  3. Scarlett says:

    >Thank God you changed the pink background! :PFor me, the switch off-calm down activity is listening to radio on my phone on my way back home (radio only, no IPOD music) & having a cup of tea before I move on with my life. The cup of tea is like closing the chapter to the day at work.

  4. Sakshi says:

    >Sigh…so glad to know that am not the only one who loves to fold laundry..the only diff here is that I don't take them out of a clothesline but from a dryer…but I take great care and the whole time in the world to sort them out and fold it…such a mind rejuvenating task it is….

  5. Rush says:

    >ur name fascinated and got me here..lovely blog

  6. Meira says:

    >I've started realizing that too :DThough cleaning up after the husband is still something I grumble about :DYou feeling better?

  7. Nimpipi says:

    >Oh I know what you mean. Same same. I like ironing clothes. i find it most therapeutic. That and watering plants.. haii.. why do we have to go to office i say:)

  8. >Diva, will you fold my clothes too :). I hate folding the laundry. I cannot think of doing any house work when i get back from work. Of course that is not an option. I usually like to sit down for few minutes and browse the net. If I REALLY REALLY have to do some houseowrk, then I cut vegetables in front of the TV.But i get your point of the need to unwind and doing mundane stuff. so need.

  9. Aparna says:

    >Folding laundry? I leave that to my mom-in-law. For me, nothing else works as well as a thorough cleaning of something…like the toaster or the microwave. Its like brushing the cobwebs away from my mind.

  10. >my only way of unwinding is facebook! i just have to connect with frens at the end of teh day. i know what u saying… but i am the laziest arse i know of and hate any household chore, i do them just because i have to 🙂

  11. >Oh yay, no traffic for me 🙂

  12. Bullshee says:

    >Ha ha ha! You're right! Some things we do let us make sense of the world…For me, its repeatedly refreshing Orkut to check for new scraps for 10-15 minutes. The same thing again and again… :-)And then I have to enjoy my only meal with hubby…I mean wifey…I mean girlfriend…Oh yea, I just remembered I'm single. Phew!

  13. Mumbai Diva says:

    >BlueMist: dear god! kitchen I do not enter. 🙂 Ah well. At least we agree on principal.Iya: 😦 You do. that bad?Scarlett: This was my original layout when I started the blog. I like it better too :)sakshi: you have a dryer that dries clothes completely? I am jealous. Mine semi dries. They still need to go out on the clothes line.rush: thank you. stick around :)meira: ah the start of the married life…Nimpipi:only for the salary, darling, only for the salary.A: very important to unwind. or else land up being in the same frame of mind…leads to domestic disasters of the fight kind !!:)Aparna: I can understandISH: ah facebook is good toolostonthestreet: you lucky youbullshee: LOVE your blog

  14. SMM says:

    >Your most welcome to come and fold my laundry any day. That's one task I hate doing. I generally do somhting like dusting or tidyin up to help clear my head 🙂

  15. >Before I left for college my chore list consisted of putting the clothes out for drying and then when are done drying it was my job to sort them out. I never did like this chore, but washing dishes was my fav. I did a lot of thinking in that 10 mins!But now that I am in college and back home only for vacations I am exempted from ALL chores!! Life is good when I see my siblings slog around! Evil me

Leave a Reply

