>What’s your calling?

>

There is this new hire in my team. Since she stays very close to home, I gave her a lift one day on the way back from office. We were generally getting to know each other better when she asked me a question that threw me. She said – ‘are you doing what you were meant to do?’ I was puzzled. Not – ‘are you doing what you like to do’. The answer if she had asked me the latter would have been- yes. The answer to the former – I did not know.

How do I know what I was meant to do? For 10 years I have been trained to think like a marketeer. I have data banks of event management agencies, I can translate client briefs into great communication ideas, I can spot a great ad layout, I can think up out of the box brand promotions. Yet, when I go to a book store I make a beeline for books on interiors, I scan newspapers for articles on interiors and when an editor asks me what subject I would consider free lance writing on, I promptly answer – Interior decoration.

The thing is I graduated college at a time when anyone with reasonably good marks opted for a course in management. There were very few who knew what their real calling was. The rest of us just wanted a good job. That included me. So an MBA it was. There were sporadic bursts of independent thought, like the two years where I ran a home accessories and gift store. But the ravages of reality put a stop to that too.

That brings me round to my original point. I like what I do. I enjoy my work. I am familiar with it. I know what my growth path is. I know that even if I’m not exceptionally brilliant at what I do, there will still be growth based on what I have learnt and delivered so far.

On the other hand, Interior decoration may just be a hobby. It may be so interesting only because I don’t have to make a living out of it. Given the pressure of making money out of it, I may not have been so kicked with it. Maybe, right now it is only a release or escape from the otherwise all-encompassing 9-5 work.

So really, how do I know what I was meant to do? I panicked for a second when she asked me that. Was I really climbing the wrong ladder? But the next day when I went back to office, sat down on a marketing plan, argued my point across with a co worker, I realized I was happy. I looked forward to this. So there was no point in wasting time moping around wondering if I was doing the right thing. It was time to make the best of what I had. And yes, maybe make time for a couple of hobbies on weekends.

This entry was posted in Diva Land, this and that. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to >What’s your calling?

  1. >i think you're doing what you were meant to do 🙂 else you won't be happy doing it. the truth is in the answer and not the question :). questions can be asked in many ways….and look at it this way…if you were meant to do interiors you would be fighting tooth and nail to get it 🙂

  2. Aditi says:

    >You have put into writing what I have wondered many times. How do you know what is your calling? I pick up interior magazines at every chance. The blogs I read and the sites I frequent are mainly art and design. But that's not really my day job. I think it depends on the person- are you happy liking what you do or do you HAVE to love it? Just my two cents!Came in via Rang Decor.

  3. aneri_masi says:

    >I loved this post :)I get into this "is this really my calling in life?" But it is so much better to just do what you like and make it your calling instead of wasting time thinking of a bigger picture.

  4. Rush says:

    >If u choose what you have,U have what u chose :)Nice post.

  5. >Hmm…interesting. I think I am doing what I was meant to be doing. But then, like you said, we haven't tried anything else to know otherwise. I guess the only other thing that I could be doing would be to be a children's author. But not seeing people, not having the challenges I'm faced with currently would probably drive me insane!

  6. Scarlett says:

    >It's very difficult to know what one's "true calling" is. I don't understand how people make statements like "This is what I was meant to do!". When do they have that Eureka moment when they know what they're doing is what they were "meant" to do? I don't think it's possible to know that. At the most you may know that you're doing what you "love" to do.

  7. Iya says:

    >as long as u r happy doing what u r doing, nothing else matters. that’s ur calling then. Hobbies are fun if they don’t have a monetary values attached..as for me i was meant to live like a princess and that’s exactly what i am doing, in my own terms though..

  8. Ersa says:

    >i've been thinking about the exact same thing lately…was even gonna do a post, but never got around to write it..anyway, so yeah, i like what i do, but i can't really seem to ans if this is what i was meant to do…rather, if there is anything at all that everyone is meant to do…i'm happy as long as i like what i'm doing and there is scope for growth..when this stops being challenging, then i might go for a change…:-)…good post, nice blog, btw 🙂

  9. Aparna says:

    >It is important to love what you are doing. If you wake up every morning feeling eager and excited to face the new day, then you know that it is your true calling. I feel it is also possible to love 2 different jobs at the same time. Shows that we are multi-faceted.

  10. Bedazzled says:

    >happiness is what counts ..If u were meant to be doing something , u wud be doing it ! :-)..chill and chug on !

  11. Meira says:

    >wow…you have interesting people at your workplace :DBut I would be puzzled too. Even with the 'are you doing what you like to do'. For I'm yet to find 'close to perfect' happiness in my work. But yes, not me the one to give up:D

  12. Meira says:

    >And interior decoration sounds fun. Maybe you can keep up the good work and design our homes too *wink wink*

  13. Arpz says:

    >So totally true.

  14. >I used to have that feeling a lot when I was in grade 11 and 12 doing science. i kept wondering what I was doing here. I wasn't very happy when I chose to do engineering. But 1 year into my journalism course I know this is what I was meant to do. I am loving it!!

  15. ani_aset says:

    >i have gone through the same feeling, and still go through it..and like you said, i now take time out for my hobbies, and feel good about it..nice post

Leave a Reply

