>My Festive Clock

>

All that glee at having the laptop back, followed by precisely 2 posts. Tsk! Tsk!

Anyway, my festive clock has gone for a toss. See, in Delhi, the festivities begin now. It’s beautiful. Slowly, the days will get shorter. Dusk will come about sooner and dawns will be slightly hazy, lazily warning you of the cold to follow. Little, twinkling strings of lights will come up in balconies and windows. Societies and clubs will go berserk enticing people to their Diwali melas. There will be diyas to buy, mithai boxes to get packed, card parties to attend, long walks to check out the innovative lights……

Hubby would always be amused by my reaction to September. My anticipation for Navratri, Diwali, Karva Chauth, and glorious winters is all summed up in this one month. In Mumbai, with Ganpati Puja, the festivities arrive sooner. And while I partake of them with as much enthusiasm as I possibly can, they are not an intrinsic part of me. And this is when I begin to miss home.

Diwali will be at Delhi, of course.

Diwali in Delhi is magical.

This entry was posted in Delhi. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to >My Festive Clock

  1. Tara says:

    >you sure can imagine what big missing missing is happening here, being in Dubai if you in Mumbai is saying that… 😦 maybe we will create a Diwali magic here only and feel good 😐

  2. >its weird how one feels MOST homesick during festival time no? first two years of marriage – i used to PINE for home. Heck i might pine this year also for all i know. But does it start with navratri as well?

  3. Serendipity says:

    >it is it is!!! :)Im going this weekend for a wdding! 3 days 🙂

  4. >:) i would love to experience diwali in delhi….have never done that..but I still enjoy diwali everywhere I am. thank God, I've always had festive people around during important festivals. enjoy the excitement 🙂

  5. D says:

    >Awwww… I wish everyone could go home on festivals because festivals aren't festivals if they aren't celebrated where you feel at home.

  6. Mumbai Diva says:

    >Tara: I know. I can understand. Cynic: It's the feel, you know, at Navratri. A lot has to to do with the changing of the season etc. Also there is some stuff that mom makes only during navratri…some special dishes…..the reasons are plenty :)serendipity: lucky you. have funA: good for you. am glad. it's lovely if you can celebrate the festivals where you are with same fervor and excitement.

  7. Iya says:

    >u know u have just written whats going on in my mind. i end being most homesick during festivals. had done one ranting post 2 years back on holi. First i thought it was b'lore that did it to me. then later i realized, it was the fact that i wasnt at my home. and looking the way life is going, i dont think i'll have many oppty's to goback to my parents to celebrate festivals.

  8. Anonymous says:

    >how come diwali is not celebrated with so much fan fare in bombay?they do navratris…y not diwali?

  9. Mumbai Diva says:

    >D: Yes, absolutely my point.Iya: That's the whole point…..i think one misses the whole feel of home.Anon: It would be great if you could atleast leave a name…… it makes commenting and replying a pleasenter experience :)As for Mumbai, of course they celebrate Diwali, not with the same fervor as Delhi though. My point is the whole feel of it. I identify more with the Delhi feel and just miss it.

  10. >heyyy its soo true….this is the third diwali I will be away from India 😦 I can actually smell the winter morning smells of India here in UK. Have fun 🙂

  11. Rush says:

    >oooh, well for me diwali is purely bombay festivities, have never spent my diwali days anywhere else in india, so will not judge!but i guess its ones association to where and when one has grown up celebrating those major occasions in life!!

  12. Meira says:

    >The air in Delhi smells of festivity. Ahhhh. You in delhi? Next month. Swell 🙂

  13. ani_aset says:

    >i'll be in delhi for diwali and yes i love the festival celebrations and the diwali mela yaay 😀

Leave a Reply

