>Back to the grind.

>

As mentioned earlier, I was in Delhi for Diwali. We left on the night of 15th and were back on the 23rd. A good 8 days of Delhi and Amritsar. It was awesome. The weather in Delhi is showing signs of an early winter. The mornings and nights had a distinct nip which reminds you that it is time to bring out the quilts and hang them out in the sun for a good airing. It was also very, very dry. So a lot of chapped heels and lips.

And I had gol gappas. Sigh! If I had my way I had gone directly from the airport to a gol gappa stall and had atleast 3 platefuls. But since that was not possible at 12.30 in the night, I had to wait till the next day. I’m telling you, the week preceding my leaving I OBSESSED over gol gappas. I’ve missed them so much.

I had a grand aunt who always claimed that whenever one visits Delhi, it seems to have changed. This was some 20-30 years ago. Now with all the games ka deadlines, it’s gone even more berserk. Detours, traffic snarls, roads where they were no roads and vice versa. Maybe it is all for the best. But the dust all this construction activity is giving rise to seems a bit doubtful on the health. But Delhi is Delhi. Relaxed. Slow. Very- “aao lawn mein baith ke chai peeyen” at any time of the day – pace.

We dutifully divided time between the in – law household and parents household. Since in laws had a new house, Diwali saw the full works. A typical dilli waali diwali. Lots of lights, diyas, mithai and errrr ……crackers.

Oh, the fun of it all. The roaming around in GK having gol gappas, buying earthen diyas, rushing back home for the pooja and then my favourite part – lighting diyas all over the house…the terrace, the garden walls, steps. Give me an inch of space and there will be 4 diyas there.

And meeting the parents ( and dog!!). Pure bliss.

We also nipped across to Amritsar for a day and a half for the annual visit to the Golden Temple. Mom in law and a couple of friends accompanied us. So it turned into one large picnic.

All in all, a great holiday. It’s great to be back though. Even though one is struggling to find bearings in the office. So there is only time for this scratchy post. More later. See ya.

This entry was posted in Delhi. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to >Back to the grind.

  1. Ramit says:

    >Don't you get gol gappas in Mumbai though? The "aao lawn mein baith kar chai peeyen" part is sooooo cute!

  2. Mumbai Diva says:

    >Ramit : No, No. you get paani puri which is soooo different.

  3. Nimpipi says:

    >sacchi, what is dilli if not aao lawn mein baith ke chai peeyo. well felt:)

  4. >Wow! Sounds like it was a real fun time. And I want some Gol Gappas too, all that talk of them is making me drool all over my keyboard. no one makes it like they do in Delhi!

  5. Titaxy says:

    >nice..welcome back :-)..belated diwaliw ishes

  6. dipali says:

    >You've made me nostalgic for saaddi Dilli!

  7. Dil se says:

    >Ooh, gol gappe!! Kya yaad dila diya 🙂 Now I am craving for them. I so want to go to Delhi now !!BTW: Glad that you had a great break. Welcome back.

  8. Mohan says:

    >from vada-pav to golgappa and then back to vada-pav!Hope you had a great diwali 🙂

  9. Nu says:

    >WOW, mention of gol-gappa and I'm so much wanting them right away..I eat them almost 2-3 times a week 😉 Yeah !I too love GK ! No, i haven't lived in Delhi for a long while..I was there for about 3 months for my summer training..But I did visit almost every corner of Delhi…specially the Delhi Haat ! :)Partied harder ? Now work hard 😉 LOL

  10. ani_aset says:

    >"Delhi is Delhi. Relaxed. Slow. Very- “aao lawn mein baith ke chai peeyen” at any time of the day – pace." hehe so very true..and winters..are even more lazyhappy diwali 🙂

  11. D says:

    >Oh, you make me pine for Delhi even more! I've been having Delhi-craving for a long, long time now 😦

  12. Anonymous says:

    >oh and i always thought gol gappa was the same as pani poori :-(what is the difference???-anamika

  13. >Hello fellow diya lighter. I go slightly mad with em too.

  14. Ashley says:

    >Ah! The nippy weather! Feeling some of it in my part of the world too! Love em golgappas!! 🙂

  15. Nu says:

    >Tagged at my blog 🙂

  16. Shalini says:

    >I know exactly what you mean…lovely post.

  17. Meira says:

    >Next time you are in Saddi Dilli, Please toh meet up. We had a blogger's meet last sat. And much fun it was

  18. The knife says:

    >I just returned from a weekend trip to cal for my grandpa's 90th birthday and made sure to tick off phuchkas, rolls and Flurys pastries from my list…missed the biriyani though

  19. chandni says:

    >the nonsense….what is it I hear? U were in delhi? and u did not call me??*pouts*

Leave a Reply

