>Moving On

>

The resignation has been tendered. The long chat with the boss has happened. And I am moving on. The last couple of months, I realized I was not headed anywhere. It is dangerous to be bored with work. So one had to pick oneself up and look around for something meatier.

But it is strange how the process of putting in your papers can fill one up with dread. First the unsettling bit of moving on from a zone of comfort. I mean, I know the people here. I know who the friends are. I know who the enemies are. I know the type of coffee I will get. I know from where I can order food that will get delivered in 10 minutes flat! I know my work station. It’s got little chunks of my life on it. My coffee mug. Photographs. A lovely image of Lord Ganesha that a vendor sent me.

And then the process itself. I’m moving on. It’s a natural process of accepting a better assignment. It is also beneficial for my current company, no? I mean best to let go of someone who has sorta lost interest in her role, right? Yet it fills you with a sort of dread to tell your boss that you’re calling it quits.

But post that, once all the talking is done, it is actually quite fun. Lurrrve the notice period.

This entry was posted in this and that. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to >Moving On

  1. Ramit says:

    >What a coincidence! I'm in the notice period too. I'm scared. Very very scared. God bless me. Oh and this is your blog. Sorry. God bless you! 😀

  2. >LOVE the notice period me too. Though unfortunately in my last two jobs, worked like a dog sigh.Good luck with the new place.

  3. Pins N Ashes says:

    >I know, it is the most care-free period of life after college apart from filling up exit forms, getting signatures n that exit interview. Phew! Good luck and enjoyAshes

  4. Dil se says:

    >That is really a very bold step. But it is very important to be happy in what you do. It may be scary for now, but over the time, when you look back, you'll be glad you took this step.All the best for your new start !!

  5. Titaxy says:

    >yeah it's scary at first…but i'm sure you will do fine..as you say, there is no point in staying at a place where you feel stagnant. good luck on the new endeavor, dear…hope you find your comfort there v soon :-)…

  6. Nu says:

    >I have been through a similar situation 3 months back and me too ranted about it here http://nupurphatak.blogspot.com/2009/05/flaking-off.htmlGood Luck with transition 🙂

  7. Bedazzled says:

    >hey .. congrats !!! the notice period is the besstttt.. have funn!!! and good luck with the new assignment !

  8. Aneela Z says:

    >you brave brave little girl…keep us updated and God speed for the days ahead.

  9. >I am inspired by that fun part. Looking forward to puttin my papers too 🙂

  10. DewdropDream says:

    >The last time I handed in my notice, I was far too busy to be able to even realise those were my last days in the company. Only on the last day when I had an entire hour free and the boss said to go around and 'gather my memories' did it hit me. Hope whatever's coming next is really good … all the best! 🙂

  11. >I know, how it feels to leave the employer you have so well know…but as you say, its a part of working life! I felt the same whien I resigned from my previous employer last yr, after working for 6 yrs…sigh…It was tough, but moved on..All the best for your new assignment!

  12. >yeah isn't the notice period the bestest? someone told me once its also called the golden period and I couldn't agree more! enjoy!

  13. >wow congrats on the new job…there's excitement in your voice…..i love notice period..when i'm in it :D…but I hate last dayall the best for the new role. tell us about it soon.

  14. Vidooshak says:

    >Good luck. And enjoy the no responsibilities, no con-calls, no travel period. It won't last 🙂

  15. Dee says:

    >Cheers to new beginnings 🙂

  16. Miss M says:

    >Never handed in a notice period, but it is darn exciting to think about what's in store for you next! :)Good luck with everything babe! 🙂

  17. Meira says:

    >Oh its happy when the 'parting' is pleasant and not unfriendly from the company's side. But you go girl. All the very best 🙂

  18. >oh, well done. and you are so right. the best thing in life is notice period. aah. to breeze, breeze out knowing that you're just a kuch din ka mehman. : )

  19. Mumbai Diva says:

    >Ramit: Thanks. and good luck to you too.Cynic: I know. I'm swamped too. But it stills feels good that no one can hold me responsible right now. Hee heePins N Ashes : I've been mulling over the exit form too. to be honest or to be nice. nice wins, i think.Dil Se: Thank you so much. felt good to share it with you guys.Titaxy: I know. It's best to move on.Nu: hmmm…very similar post. It's the moving out of comfort zone that fills one with dread.Bedazzled : Thanks so much. I am looking forward to starting the new assignment.Aneela Z : Of course I will keep you updated :)Ankur: :DDewDropDream: I know my boss is acting as if nothing's happened. I'm still getting mails asking for status on hazaar activities. err…can we chill plz?Shruti: 6 years is a long time. Thanks for the best wishes.newnumontheblock : trying too. still too much work though.A: I made so many friends here. It's been fun. But I'm hoping some of these friendships will stay regardless of where we work.Vidooshak: Thanks so muchDee: Yup. Cheers. Miss M: Thank so much.Meira: Oh, fairly pleasant. some bits of unpleasantness but that is expected. some people will act nasty. it's okagent green glass: I float in at 11 and float out at 6. the problem is they are still trying to load me with work. sigh!

  20. AD says:

    >Hey, first time here and can totally relate with your situation. Its been a week since I quit although I havent started anything new yet. Will be digging around for more reads. Do visit my page when you get a chance 🙂

  21. Rohit says:

    >hehee..i feel ur pain .if there is any that is..put down my papers last month ..enjoy teh break as long as it lasts!

  22. The knife says:

    >I have not done it too many times myself. Once was a couple of April's back after 5 yrs.Savour the oment. Take a trip somewhere. And all the bestt

  23. SMM says:

    >Enjoy your notice period…I think its the most chilled out part of worlife :)And cheers to new beginings!!!

  24. Vinod R Iyer says:

    >No Seriously, is this the season for making career moves.. Including mine, all blog posts seem to be surrounded by it :)ATB

  25. Smitha says:

    >All the best. Sometimes, it takes greater courage to leave our comfort zone than a place where we are uneasy. Am sure you will do great!

  26. Scarlett says:

    >We want you back! Come back!!

Leave a Reply

