>When the going gets tough…….

>

…..the tough run to mommy.

And so the previous weekend was spent in Delhi with parents, sister and dog.

I spent a total of 2 hours staring at the ticketing site ( I always use cleartrip.com – they’re just so user friendly) and finally decided on a flight that took off at 8 pm. It was perfect. I could be out from office without having to take like a half day off and yet reach Delhi at a reasonable time.

We finally flew at 10.30 pm. Most annoying.

AND my return flight got PRE-PONED ( does that even happen?).

Delhi was unbearably hot. However, after 2 years in Mumbai, it was a delight to sit in a ‘cooler’ cooled room again. The sweet smell of khus and the remarkably good job a cooler does in the dry Delhi heat I had all but forgotten. It’s pretty strange to be in love with a new city and yet miss your old city terribly. Right now I don’t have a choice. We live where we work. But I’m wondering what happens when I do have a choice. When one retires. When you have lived like we have, almost nomadically, moving practically every 3 years, it’ll be difficult choosing the city to settle in. I am assuming it will have to be the city that has family…but am not sure any longer.

Anyway, there were rather mixed reactions to my new short hair do. I have never chopped my hair off. And boy, do I mean chopped. From waist length hair to a cropped hair do. You should have seen the delight on the hairstylist’s face when this happened. I had gone for a walk, saw this pretty famous hair studio, walked in, asked for their senior stylist and told him to chop my hair off. The guy grinned and did exactly that. All pretty impulsive.

Me : It’s hair, Ma. It can always grow back! Imagine living life not knowing how I look with short hair.

Mom: Ok, you know now. Now grow it back!

Aaargh!

Somebody else told me I look very ‘Bombay’! Can anyone please decipher that one for me.

Photo of new, short hair do is up. I think it looks very cool.

Of course someone had to come along and spoil this party. It happens to be hubby’s first cousin who has decided to go and get married in December. And given he is the first son in his immediate family to get married and the last marriage that happened in the extended family was ours- 10 years back…this one promises to be the big, fat Punjabi wedding. Now I’m oscillating between growing hair back for flowers in hair type of look or keeping it short and doing the sexy designer wear kind of look.

Decisions! Decisions!

This entry was posted in Delhi, Diva Land. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to >When the going gets tough…….

  1. mindspace says:

    >what u did recently is getting that sexy and cool and wow hair cut/style.. so maybe you should update the recently moved to mumbai thingie now..i am trying to gather the courage to cut my hair verrrryy short too.. lets see, one day, inshah allah.. u look great.. did u say that already.. anyways! 🙂

  2. aneri_masi says:

    >Keep it short, keep it short, and put flowers in the short hair. Will look nice!

  3. DewdropDream says:

    >You look adorable! And I must agree with whoever said it, it is very Bombay :DKeep it short for the wedding … just ensure your blouses are the sort that don't make the whole look appear weird. You look like a friend of mine with this new hair do. She has the most adorable pixie face and had these glorious curls that she chopped off and straightened 🙂

  4. The Bald Guy says:

    >I'd go with your mother. Especially since I'm bald. :PGrow it back! 😀

  5. SMM says:

    >Sexy sexy look…keep the hair short & flaunt the "Bombay" look. You'l stand out from the Dilli aunties in their sequinned crystals and maang tikas 😛

  6. WSW says:

    >Hawt look, i love…Hows the new car and driving in Mumbai?

  7. >Looking awesome with the new look….I love short hair myself.I would vote for the sexy look…go for it baby…

  8. Monika says:

    >i like the short look… keep it that way 🙂

  9. >i think the "bombay look" looks good…v chic!Totally with u on the where to stay bit – to add kahani mein twist – the husband's family is in delhi, mine in bangalore and we work in Mumbai…ummm…no decisions being made here 😀

  10. The knife says:

    >I would love to retire in Goa. And that's the only meaningful thing that I can add to this discussion.

  11. Meira says:

    >Sexy designer. Strappy blouses and sheer saris. The new hair do looks awesomely chic. me likes. Lots

  12. >Love the short cut.and I envy it too.I just wish I had the face and the look for a short cut.Go for sexy desisgner blouses for the wedding.

  13. Iya says:

    >u really look hip in this hairdo!!and man that was really impulsive..i have had short hair during my school days, so furtunately no such desires..

  14. Mumbai Diva says:

    >mindspace: thanks for reminding me. I changed the profile… :)aneri_masi: i know. most people i know are suggesting that.DewdropDream: thank you. again bombay!! :)The Bald Guy: :Dsmm: oh dear, delhi aunties are rather known for their sequinned sarees, no? I am so going to avoid that.WSW: thank yee. new car review up soon.LP: Hmmm. am more and more convinced with the short look.Monika: yes mam. :)dropzofjupiter: it's tough no. also where friends are plays such a large role too.The Knife: Hey. we've been contemplating that too. We even bought a small apartment near Baga which we are thinking of trading for a larger house sometime.Meira: Chic, no? I love it too.Lost on… : i never thought i had the face for a short cut too. i was such a "i have such an indian look" type of girl. i'm so glad i discovered this looks good too.Iya: I love it this way. But yes, it was scarily impulsive.

  15. Prateek Sur says:

    >And ya I forgot abt the retiring in life thing I would say that u should prefer to live in a city where all the amenities are available for a lavish and ostentatious life..I was born and brought up in Jamshepur, am staying in Chennai for the past 3 years for studies and will continue for another one more year and then I finally would settle down in my city of dreams..MUMBAI!!

  16. Paroma says:

    >short and sexy!! *whistles* 🙂

  17. Minal says:

    >Whatever you decide on- definitely do post pictures!

  18. dipali says:

    >You look terrific with short hair! Keep it short. You're looking really chic.

  19. Shalini says:

    >The new look looks great !! Stick with the sexy designer wear… it wld look smashing !!

  20. Titaxy says:

    >you look adorable..i love the short hair 🙂

  21. Sagarika says:

    >Hey.. I love the cropped hair style and tou have to check out Mnadira Bedi's avtaar at the NDTV awards to know how much your short hair can gel with traditional dresses.. but ya they look urband trad for sure 🙂 …. But no fear.. you'll stand out na.. that's all that mattes *wink* *wink* … imagine 10 years back too people stared at you at the wedding.. so it shall be now ;D

  22. A says:

    >Personally I prefer Delhi. Grew up, studied and worked sometime in Delhi. That is the only place I lived in India. Over the years I have been to other cities including Bombay, Banglore, Chandigarh, Madras etc. but Delhi is the best. I cannot tolerate the summer there but that is the same in Bombay or Chandigarh too.

Leave a Reply

