>Meanderings

>

I like that song ‘aye khuda’ from Paathshaala. Every radio station I hopped to during the drive to office in the morning seemed to be blaring it repeatedly. So you noticed I said ‘drive’. Hmm. So let’s give you a review on the Spark, shall we?

It’s what I expected and more. Of course, the first time I drove it back home I had my share of post purchase dissonance. You see, I had initially wanted a Hyundai Santro. I’m very comfortable with that car and I love the road view it provides given the height of the seats. The other cars I have driven have been our very low Hyundai Accent and my previous Maruti 800 and of course dad’s Santro. But on repeatedly having ‘old technology’ drummed into my ears by hubby and sundry other male friends everytime I mentioned the Santro, I opted to go and look at the Chevy Beat which is what was being recommended by all these guys. I found the Beat slightly intimidating and settled on the Spark instead.

It’s awesome. Very zippy. Very smooth on even the lower gears. There seems to be a slight problem with the brake pedal position. It’s higher than normal so my foot does not really land smack in the middle of it but slightly lower. It leaves me feeling slightly anxious that my foot will slip off the brake. Apart from this small anomaly (which I intend to get checked) it’s a great car. The instrument panel is not in front of the steering wheel but in the centre of the dashboard. Which does not matter to me at all. I mean apart from the fuel status I really don’t check anything. At this point a lot of men reading this blog will start rolling about with laughter. “ How like a woman”, they will think. “Doesn’t even look at the controls”. I know this because 3 guys I know, to whom I made this same announcement did exactly that. Much merriment and laughter ensued right in the middle of carter road. Hmmmpf!

It would be unfair for me to comment on the mileage as I do a WHOLE LOT of clutch driving, but I can comment on the interiors which are not as plasticky as some of the reviews made them out to be. As Chevy should ideally say “ Itne paison mein jaan loge kya?”

So all in all, a nice buy for the price. And I’m very pleased that my goal of doing delhi type non-lane-following driving is finally accomplished. Peddar Road jams, here I come.

In other news, thank god it is Friday today. Because it means tomorrow is Saturday. No I’m not looking forward to wild drinking and partying. I am looking forward to having the washing machine repaired tomorrow. There is nothing that throws a bigger spanner in the wheels of life than a non working appliance. What scares me even more is that day after is Sunday. So this machine needs to get repaired before hubby decides to roll up his sleeves and have a “look”. Shudder!!

You guys have a good weekend 🙂

This entry was posted in Diva Land, Hubby, Mumbai. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >Meanderings

  1. Jarlin Paul says:

    >Yes, Chevy Spark is a good car and value for its price. But, I don’t like the tail lamp and the instrument panel placed at the centre of the dashboard. Thanks for sharing your views.Keep blogging…

  2. Prateek Sur says:

    >i've driven it..its a gud drive..similar to matiz..and i jst luv it..and abt the "How like a woman" thing its k if u dont check the controls but the clutch driving i can say its predominantly a woman thing..!!do check out my blog as well..www.headacheandtension.blogspot.com

  3. Prateek Sur says:

    >i've driven it..its a gud drive..similar to matiz..and i jst luv it..and abt the "How like a woman" thing its k if u dont check the controls but the clutch driving i can say its predominantly a woman thing..!!do check out my blog as well..www.headacheandtension.blogspot.com

  4. >congrats about your car…Were you able to fix your w/m..I know its a nightmare when such appliances stop working.Hope all went well and your W/M was not attacked by your hubbt 🙂

  5. Kanupriya says:

    >Hey, thanks for dropping by my blog :-)Congrats for ur new car, Chevy is a cool choice though me have a santro and love it in small car range :)Hope to read more from you soon…

  6. Haddock says:

    >Keeping the instrument panel in the centre of the dashboard is the latest design I suppose.

  7. Titaxy says:

    >nice…hope the w/d is fixed now.. 🙂

  8. Preeti says:

    >"There is nothing that throws a bigger spanner in the wheels of life than a non working appliance." Totally agree! And, when one repair starts, its like a chain reaction, and every other appliance starts malfunctioning! Loved your blog! Your writing style is awesome!

Leave a Reply

