Daaku aur Haseena

Yep. That was the theme for this year’s party.

A very, very happy new year to all. So what did you do? I partied. I am like that on New Years. I need to celebrate. It does not need to necessarily involve alcohol or expensive places. But it needs to have friends, good food, music  and lots of dancing. Though I must say the old bones and muscles were creaking rather much the next day.

We always have a simple plan. It’s been the same set of people the last 4 years since we moved to Mumbai. Most of them are friends from Delhi or friends’ friends. I think after a certain age it is rare to make new friends.  So you hang out with the same set of people.  There is no pressure to prove anything. And there is a general sense of comfort. So we get together at someone’s place. Kids too. The cost of the alcohol and food is always split. Music playlists are drawn up, elaborate themes are discussed, discarded and frozen. This year it was Daaku and Haseena. I don’t know how we came up with that. But, everyone ran into everyone at the usual suspect shops in Bandra furiously hunting for some accessories that would turn them into daakus. Guns were heavily in demand! It was hilarious.

And the ones that stay some distance away from the chosen house for the party always crash at the host’s place. Safer that way. Even if you are not drunk some other idiot on the road might be. 

I don’t have any resolutions this year. I’m only determined to figure out some stuff that I’ve been thinking about for a bit. I need to come to a decision. I hope I have the courage to make that decision this year.

On the whole I’m looking forward to 2012.

Here’s wishing all of you a great 2012.

This entry was posted in holiday, this and that. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daaku aur Haseena

  1. bikram says:

    Happy new year to you toooo… Shud have put some pictures or at least of gabbar singh.:-) … He he he…
    All the best for 2012…

  2. Carpe Diem! says:

    Pictures, pictures, pictures!! 😀

  3. Karma Chameleon says:

    Happy new year..pics!pics!pics!
    Also am still waiting for Euro trip updates..

  4. Totally agree on the no pressure to prove anything and the sense of comfort!! I like hanging out with such friends. Saw the pics :). You look awesome!!

  5. I have *insert the sound of drumrolls* awarded you. Please hop over to my blog to claim it 🙂 Congrats.

Leave a Reply

